Opinion

RSS

Robin Schultz June 2016

Photo courtesy of Robin Schultz

When I decided to run for council in 2016, it was not an easy choice. I realized that there would be some sacrifices that would have to be made, including some dealing with my family. I didn't make the choice overnight. more

Oct 3, 2016 6:59 PM Opinion

Gun range stock photo

Stock photo

Says people should know about range before they buy a house off South Shades Crest Road more

Sep 22, 2016 12:42 PM Opinion 24 Comments

Quality and quantity are two concepts we face almost daily in our lives. We find ourselves making decisions based on one or the other. For some, quantity is key. But some prefer quality. more

Sep 1, 2016 2:28 PM Rick Watson

The Hoover Beautification Board recently held a luncheon to commend businesses and non-residential properties for the most beautiful landscaping. This program is held every two years. more

Aug 31, 2016 3:00 PM Mayor's Minute

"We desperately need a new leader who is looking out for ALL of us while planning for our future responder needs, student needs, roadway needs, business needs, cultural needs and neighborhood needs." more

Aug 22, 2016 12:02 PM Opinion

We have always been particularly impressed with the City of Hoover, and the quality of life it affords. Since 2011, Mayor Ivey has continued and enhanced the remarkable standards we appreciate. more

Aug 15, 2016 2:10 PM Opinion 13 Comments

Gary Ivey 2016 campaign kickoff

Photo courtesy of Gary Ivey campaign

A Hoover resident and former Board of Education member responds to a letter about Mayor Gary Ivey. more

Aug 9, 2016 8:02 PM Opinion 1 Comments

Readers' opinion: Mayor Gary Ivey has failed to demonstrate transparent and collaborative leadership. more

Aug 5, 2016 10:07 AM Opinion 29 Comments

Kara Moritz Harrison

Photo by Jon Anderson

"Now the universe is not cold and impersonal anymore," and the lyrics to Christmas songs "make complete sense now." more

Dec 24, 2015 9:06 PM Opinion 17 Comments

Magic Muffins birthday cake

Photo courtesy of Rick DeFilippo

Spontaneous human kindness still exists here in our communities. more

Nov 25, 2015 10:15 AM Opinion 1 Comments

I am extremely proud to be your mayor and to live in a great city that my family is happy to call home for over 30 years. more

Aug 3, 2015 4:06 PM Mayor's Minute

Summer is in full swing, which means picnics, long days at the pool and cookouts where folks are grilling. more

Jun 18, 2015 4:43 PM Mayor's Minute

Summertime is here and we hope everyone is enjoying it. more

May 21, 2015 8:58 PM Mayor's Minute

With summer fast approaching, I hope you will take a little time and go visit the beautiful Aldridge Gardens, which is located on Lorna Road. more

Apr 23, 2015 6:33 PM Mayor's Minute

Laura Bush

Photo courtesy of Samantha Nelson.

If you were in the audience for former first lady Laura Bush’s visit on Thursday, you may not have noticed the Wright Center staff patrolling the press section precisely three minutes into her speech. I can assure you, though, that the Crimson did. more

Apr 2, 2015 4:28 PM Editor's Perspective

Springtime is here and we know you are enjoying it, especially after the extremely cold and rainy winter we had. Everywhere you look, trees and flowers are blooming! more

Mar 23, 2015 9:46 PM Mayor's Minute

It is an honor to be your mayor and to live in a great city that I am happy to call home. more

Feb 23, 2015 8:17 PM Mayor's Minute

2015 has been a very cold year so far! Our staff has been busy planning many educational, fun and family friendly events that are sure to warm you up and get you involved in our community. more

Jan 26, 2015 10:22 PM Mayor's Minute

We hope you had a wonderful holiday season and a Happy New Year. It’s a very exciting time with a new year starting and brand new opportunities everywhere. more

Dec 29, 2014 5:45 PM Mayor's Minute

We want to wish you a safe and wonderful holiday season. more

Nov 25, 2014 2:43 PM Mayor's Minute

See our full December issue