Opinion

RSS

Frank Brocato Feb 2016

Photo courtesy of Frank Brocato

It has been almost a year since I was sworn into office as your mayor. I had many goals making up my platform, and I am pleased to announce that several of them are coming to fruition this fall. more

Aug 22, 2017 6:55 PM Mayor's Minute

I hope your summer has been great.  It’s hard to believe the students will be back in school soon and that football season is fast approaching. more

Jul 26, 2017 5:51 PM Mayor's Minute

By Frank Brocato more

Jun 26, 2017 5:08 PM Mayor's Minute

Frank Brocato Feb 2016

Photo courtesy of Frank Brocato

By Frank Brocato more

May 23, 2017 5:02 PM Mayor's Minute

By Frank V. Brocato more

Feb 24, 2017 3:33 PM Mayor's Minute

Robin Schultz June 2016

Photo courtesy of Robin Schultz

When I decided to run for council in 2016, it was not an easy choice. I realized that there would be some sacrifices that would have to be made, including some dealing with my family. I didn't make the choice overnight. more

Oct 3, 2016 6:59 PM Opinion

Gun range stock photo

Stock photo

Says people should know about range before they buy a house off South Shades Crest Road more

Sep 22, 2016 12:42 PM Opinion 26 Comments

Quality and quantity are two concepts we face almost daily in our lives. We find ourselves making decisions based on one or the other. For some, quantity is key. But some prefer quality. more

Sep 1, 2016 2:28 PM Rick Watson

The Hoover Beautification Board recently held a luncheon to commend businesses and non-residential properties for the most beautiful landscaping. This program is held every two years. more

Aug 31, 2016 3:00 PM Mayor's Minute

"We desperately need a new leader who is looking out for ALL of us while planning for our future responder needs, student needs, roadway needs, business needs, cultural needs and neighborhood needs." more

Aug 22, 2016 12:02 PM Opinion

We have always been particularly impressed with the City of Hoover, and the quality of life it affords. Since 2011, Mayor Ivey has continued and enhanced the remarkable standards we appreciate. more

Aug 15, 2016 2:10 PM Opinion 13 Comments

Gary Ivey 2016 campaign kickoff

Photo courtesy of Gary Ivey campaign

A Hoover resident and former Board of Education member responds to a letter about Mayor Gary Ivey. more

Aug 9, 2016 8:02 PM Opinion 1 Comments

Readers' opinion: Mayor Gary Ivey has failed to demonstrate transparent and collaborative leadership. more

Aug 5, 2016 10:07 AM Opinion 29 Comments

Kara Moritz Harrison

Photo by Jon Anderson

"Now the universe is not cold and impersonal anymore," and the lyrics to Christmas songs "make complete sense now." more

Dec 24, 2015 9:06 PM Opinion 17 Comments

Magic Muffins birthday cake

Photo courtesy of Rick DeFilippo

Spontaneous human kindness still exists here in our communities. more

Nov 25, 2015 10:15 AM Opinion 1 Comments

I am extremely proud to be your mayor and to live in a great city that my family is happy to call home for over 30 years. more

Aug 3, 2015 4:06 PM Mayor's Minute

Summer is in full swing, which means picnics, long days at the pool and cookouts where folks are grilling. more

Jun 18, 2015 4:43 PM Mayor's Minute

Summertime is here and we hope everyone is enjoying it. more

May 21, 2015 8:58 PM Mayor's Minute

With summer fast approaching, I hope you will take a little time and go visit the beautiful Aldridge Gardens, which is located on Lorna Road. more

Apr 23, 2015 6:33 PM Mayor's Minute

Laura Bush

Photo courtesy of Samantha Nelson.

If you were in the audience for former first lady Laura Bush’s visit on Thursday, you may not have noticed the Wright Center staff patrolling the press section precisely three minutes into her speech. I can assure you, though, that the Crimson did. more

Apr 2, 2015 4:28 PM Editor's Perspective

See our full August issue